Hours Before Haiyan

Just before Haiyan hit land, I was browsing the news. Watching satellite feeds and reading the hourly updates. I wasn’t sleeping. It was early morning when I finally felt the fear set in. I even posted a screenshot on twitter.

Yolanda is the Philippine name for Haiyan. "Malapit na" means 'It's near.'
Yolanda is the Philippine name for Haiyan. “Malapit na” means ‘It’s near.’

I was trying to grasp how huge this storm was. It almost covered the entire country. Only then, hours later, would I realize how much damage it would truly leave behind.

Commentary?

