The Personification of Depression

11430205_365974140268360_728936995_nI am awake when everyone else sleeps. I am a floating soul in the corridors at night. It is my voice that echoes off the walls when your eyes close. My footsteps are in tune to the thump-thump-thump of your heartbeat. I am the ghost that bangs against the dome of your head as you sleep. My strong arms hold you, tenderly, sweetly; you are captive to my presence.

I am the silence. I am the dark. I am fear.

So this is sadness, to exist and to not feel alive; to be there and yet be somewhere else altogether.

Commentary?

